|
Friday, February 04, 2005
Outrageously cheap North Face gore-tex jackets
I've been browsing the outdoors gear for sale on www.ebay.co.uk and have come across a number of sellers punting North Face jackets complete with Goretex XCR, removable fleeces etc. These jackets are selling at prices between £40 and £70. Now I may be wrong, but EH!!!!!??
These North Face jackets retail at between £200 and £300 in reputable shops. Just how are these sellers managing to sell them for a fraction of that? Working in the outdoors world, I know that trade prices on outdoors gear are normally about half the retail price. So a North Face jacket for £40 ? My guess is that you should go canny on that kind of deal. I'm not saying that all the North Face goretex jackets on ebay are knock-off's - there might be some genuine stock there, but I'd ask your seller some questions first, like, "how can you sell a goretex jacket at this price?" If the answer doesn't sound genuine, it probably isn't. Anyway, watch out. I'd personally spend my £70 on a less high profile fabric if I could guarantee what I was getting. Ah well, here's the link: http://search.ebay.co.uk/north-face-goretex-jacket_W0QQfltZ9 and one with gore-tex spelled properly: Click Here
Comments:
Thought so. I paid £180 in my local shop for my north face, and that was on sale. Guess the fakes happen when someone starts wearing that label as a fashion accessory. Same happened with Helly Hansen a few years ago. I got stung by these North Face fakes too. The quality of the jacket I bought was very poor. Stay away. It's unfortunate that the real North Face Gore-Tex jackets are actually manufactured in China, like Berghaus etc. Mountain Equipment is one of the rare ones, being manufactured in Hungary, north face never even made the 2 in 1 jackets that are all over ebay. fake - stay away. if you want advice and close up pics to ensure you only buy genuine north face stuff on ebay the checkout: http://www.thenorthfaceguru.com/ good luck. north face never even made the 2 in 1 jackets that are all over ebay. fake - stay away. if you want advice and close up pics to ensure you only buy genuine north face stuff on ebay the checkout: http://www.thenorthfaceguru.com/ good luck. check out ebay for green north face tnf x jacket? zipper on right, logo on upper left and center of back. It's at least 7 years old. RN #61661, CA# 30516? Can anyone tell me the name of jacket, year? Is it a fake? Thanks Cat I found a website called northfacecoming.com which claims (obviously) to be genuine, the gear on there is seriously cheap which to my mind ring alarm bells. When googled it comes up as an official website, anyone know anyhing about it?? Andy Hi Andy. From the look of that site I'd say it's a case of Buyer Beware. I personally wouldn't be buying from there, but then I'm after a Rab for my next waterproof. << Home |




